BRIENZ

The laid back lakeside town of Brienz on the northrern shore of Lake Brienz is a must-visit on the lake area. Brienz is a home to the Ballenberg Open Air Museum where also outdoor theatre plays are performed during the summer. The Brienz Rothorn Bahn which is the fourth highest railway and the only line offering a full steam service in Switzerland starts from Brienz.
Don’t miss the area of Brunngasse, once awarded as the most beautiful street in Europe with its cute decorated wooden houses and the gorgeous lake promenade. Before tourism provided an additional source of income Brienz was more famous for its wood carving tradition and the annual wood-carving festival still takes place in the town.

KAYAK & SUP RENTAL: BRIENZ LIDO

Brienz Lido has a direct lake access and you can hire a kayak or a SUP-board from the spot. Lido is situated right on the shore, a short 10-minute walk from Brienz Railway Station.

Transport Options

Bus: Number 151 travels to and from Brienz, the Lido/Strandbad and Ballenberg. Other buses can also be taken to Brienz railway station.

Trains: Hourly trains run between Brienz, Ringgenberg and Interlaken Ost (with further bus connection to Bönigen & Iseltwald) The journey to Ringgenberg takes 18mins and trains leave Brienz at :02

Ferry: To & From Interlaken Ost,  Rinngenberg, Iseltwald, Giessbach & Brienz

Parking: Parking by the ferry and railway station and there is further parking above the Brienzer Rothorn railway station.

On the Water

Launching: There is an excellent launching point from the small harbour at Ferry landing with car park within 5metres of the waters adgeRental and launching is possible from the Lido/Strandbad. Further round the lake towards Axalp, just beyond the Aare there is also parking and a good launching point from a beach, and on the other side of Brienz, the Hotel & Restaurant Wildbach also makes an excellent starting point.

Dangers: In Brienz take care with the regular ferries and respect the 50m distance from them, If in doubt stay well clear and head towards the shore.  There are a number of swimming areas surrounded by yellow buoys, which we are not allowed to paddle through.

Other Useful Information

Public Toilets: Can be found at the railway station

Tourist Information: Opposite the ferry landing & railway station

ATM: Banks and the Post Office are just down the road to the West of the railway station.

Local Shops: There is a Kiosk at the railways station and a snack bar at the ferry landing.  On the main road West of the railway station is a large COOP, bakery and range of other amenities.

THINGS TO DO

SWIM & RELAX: BRIENZ LIDO

Brienz has a family-friendly lido equipped with a water trampoline, a paddling pool, a playground and a large sunbathing meadow. Lido is situated right on the shore, a short 10-minute walk from Brienz Railway Station. On a hot summer day Lake Brienz is a perfect place to spend a relaxing and fun day playing games and enjoying the sun and the crystal-clear water.

BRIENZER ROTHORN RAILWAY

Steaming up by rail to the top of the Brienzer Rothorn: it’s not just railway enthusiasts who go into raptures at the sight of these sheer rocky ridges and the views of Lake Brienz.

Experience the thrill of travelling by vintage steam railway as it negotiates 1,680 m in altitude difference and puffs its way up to the Brienzer Rothorn. The journey from Brienz takes around one hour, through a landscape of pastures, meadows and forests, past the soaring rock faces of the sheer ridge. Up on the Brienzer Rothorn itself, the Alps of central Switzerland await, along with the peaks of the Bernese Alps rising to over 4,000 m.

BALLENBERG OPEN-AIR MUSEUM

At the Ballenberg Open Air Museum, Switzerland is just as it once was.  100 original, century-old buildings from all over Switzerland, original gardens and fields, demonstrations of traditional handicrafts, lots of special events, and 250 farmyard animals recreate a vivid impression of the past in rural Ballenberg.

PADDLE STEAMBOAT & LAKE CRUISES: BLS

Turquoise blue waters, mountain peaks capped with eternal snows, and a cool breeze in your face – high time for a cruise on Lake Thun or Lake Brienz!

So switch off and come to life! Leave your everyday worries behind, let your thoughts soar, and relax and unwind. A cruise on Lake Thun or Lake Brienz takes you past picturesque fishing villages and castles steeped in history. So whether it’s Mediterranean flair on Lake Thun or a cruise through crystal-clear glacier waters on Lake Brienz, on every steamer the ship’s kitchens are there to cater to our guests’ well-being.

WALKS & MOUNTAIN HIKES FROM BRIENZ

When the summer heat in the lowlands becomes unbearable, there’s nothing like a trip to the Alps to cool off. So come and explore the refreshing Alpine setting around Interlaken.
With its privileged location Interlaken is the ideal starting point for excursions to all the summits in the area.Hike to your heart’s content or simply enjoy the unique panorama. In Interlaken, the gateway to the Jungfrau, there are no limits to your mountain excursions.

GIESSBACH FALLS

The Giessbach brook tumbles in 14 stages, over a length of 500 meters and out of the high valleys of the Faulhorn area down to Lake Brienz. Historic Grand Hotel Giessbach is located at the foot of this nature spectacle. The hotel is accessible by means of Europe’s oldest funicular.

EATING AND SLEEPING

HOTEL RESTAURANT WILDBACH

Our nice 2-star hotel is located about 1 km out of Brienz, in Panorama Street in the direction of Interlaken. It is just on the shore of the blue-green Lake of Brienz, which gives you the chance to take a swim in the cleanest lake of Switzerland just in front of the house. And, as you will see, the view from here is amazing with the tall mountains, covered by wild vegetation, cut by a strong and proud waterfall, falling into the lake on the other shore.

RESTAURANT STRANDBAD BRIENZ

Right on the lake, restaurant Strandbad offers breathtaking views of lake and mountains. From our terrace or our lounges you have a breathtaking view of the beautiful lake and mountain scenery. The Strandbadrestaurant is known for its delicious, freshly prepared salads. A secret tip of the regular customers is the Strami-Burger.

GRANDHOTEL GIESSBACH

Today, just as it was one hundred years ago, the historical hotel residence, by the celebrated silvery Giessbach Falls, high above Lake Brienz, is quite simply a world of its own. Surrounded by mountains, forests and alpine meadows, this fairytale-castle boasts a breathtaking view of the unspoiled landscapes of Lake Brienz.
Fine dining, from traditional to cosmopolitan, all served in a place where hospitality is lived. However, the best food on its own is not enough. Combined with enjoyment, style and entertainment, it comes to life at any time of the day or night.

YOUTH HOSTEL

Cosy rooms and all the leisure activities and excursions one could wish for. That’s what’s on offer when you take a family holiday at the Brienz Youth Hostel, a homely hostel in the Bernese Oberland. The Youth Hostel in Brienz is not just a miniature holiday paradise in Summer, when guests can relax, play or go swimming, but also at quieter times of the year. After all, there’s plenty to see, in and around Brienz, right through from Spring to Autumn.

PRICES AND DISTANCES

Rental / Vermietung:Half day:Full day:
Single Sit On TopCHF 40CHF 60
Double Sit On TopCHF 60CHF 80
SUPCHF 50CHF 70
Sea KayakCHF 50CHF 70
Premium Sea KayaksCHF 60CHF 80
Open CanoeCHF 70CHF 90
Premium SUPsOn RequestAuf Anfrage
One Way Supplement per boat: CHF30
Rental / Vermietung:Half day:Full day:
Single Sit On TopCHF 40CHF 60
Double Sit On TopCHF 60CHF 80
SUPCHF 50CHF 70
Sea KayakCHF 50CHF 70
Premium Sea KayaksCHF 60CHF 80
Open CanoeCHF 70CHF 90
Premium SUPsOn RequestAuf Anfrage
One Way Supplement per boat: CHF30
Bönigen – Iseltwald Cliffs4km40min – 1h 20min
Bönigen – Ringgenberg2km20 – 40mins
Ringgenberg – Oberried6.5km1h 10min – 2h
Iseltwald Cliffs to Iseltwald2.5km30 – 45min
Iseltwald – Giessbach Falls5km1h – 1h 30min
Iseltwald – Oberried3km30min – 1h
Brienz – Giessbach Falls3km30min – 1h
Brienz – Oberried7km1h 15min – 2h
Bönigen - Iseltwald Cliffs4km40min - 1h 20min
Bönigen - Ringgenberg2km20 - 40mins
Ringgenberg - Oberried6.5km1h 10min - 2h
Iseltwald Cliffs to Iseltwald2.5km30 - 45min
Iseltwald - Giessbach Falls5km1h - 1h 30min
Iseltwald - Oberried3km30min - 1h
Brienz - Giessbach Falls3km30min - 1h
Brienz - Oberried7km1h 15min - 2h

BRIENZ

Die lässige Seestadt Brienz am nordöstlichen Ufer des Brienzersees ist ein Muss für jeden Besucher des Sees. Brienz ist eine Heimat des Freilichtmuseums Ballenberg, wo im Sommer draußen Theaterstücke aufgeführt werden. Die Brienz Rothorn Bahn, die die viert  höchste Eisenbahn und die einzige Linie, welche mit einer Dampflokomotive befahren wird.

Verpassen Sie nicht die Gegend der Brunngasse, die einst als die schönste Straße Europas mit ihren hübschen Holzhäusern und der herrlichen Seepromenade ausgezeichnet wurde. Bevor der Tourismus eine zusätzliche Einnahmequelle darstellte, war Brienz berühmter für seine Holzschnitztradition. Das jährliche Holzschnitzfestival findet noch heute in diesem schmucken Dorf statt.

KAYAK & SUP VERMIETUNG: BRIENZ LIDO

Brienz Lido hat einen direkten Seezugang. Sie können ein Kajak oder ein SUP-Board direkt unkompliziert im Lido mieten. Das Strandbad liegt nur 10 Gehminuten vom Bahnhof Brienz entfernt.

Wie komme ich dorthin

Bus: Nummer 151 fährt von und nach Brienz, dem Lido / Strandbad und Ballenberg. Oder auch weitere Busse führen zum Bahnhof Brienz.

Züge: Zwischen Brienz, Ringgenberg und Interlaken Ost verkehren stündliche Züge (mit weiterer Busverbindung nach Bönigen & Iseltwald). Die Reise nach Ringgenberg dauert 18 Minuten und Züge fahren ab: 02

Kursschiff: Von & Interlaken Ost, Ringgenberg, Iseltwald, Giessbach & Brienz

Parken: Parken Sie in der Nähe der Anlegestation der Kursschiffe und dem Bahnhof. Weitere Parkplätze finden Sie oberhalb des Brienzer Rothorn Bahnhofs.

Auf dem Wasser

Starten: Es gibt einen ausgezeichneten Startpunkt aus dem kleinen Hafen an der Anlegestation des Kursschiffs mit Parkplatz innerhalb von 5 Metern. Vermietung und Start ist vom Lido / Strandbad aus möglich. Rund um den See in Richtung Axalp, gleich hinter der Aare, gibt es auch Parkplätze und eine gute Ausgangsposition vom Strand aus. Auf der anderen Seite von Brienz ist das Hotel & Restaurant Wildbach auch ein hervorragender Ausgangspunkt.

Gefahren: In Brienz ist es wichtig den Kursschiffen Acht zu geben. Sowie die Entfernung von 50m strikte einzuhalten., wenn im Zweifelsfall gut klar und Kopf in Richtung der Küste. Bitte beachten Sie auch, dass es eine Reihe von Schwimmbädern gibt, umgeben von gelben Bojen, die wir nicht durch paddeln dürfen.

Weitere nützliche Informationen

Öffentliche Toiletten: Am Bahnhof

Touristinformation: Gegenüber der Schiffanlegestelle und dem Bahnhof

Geldautomat: Banken und die Post sind nur die Straße hinunter westlich des Bahnhofs.

Lokale Geschäfte: Am Bahnhof gibt es einen Kiosk und an der Anlegestelle des Schiffs eine Snackbar. Auf der Hauptstraße westlich des Bahnhofs befindet sich ein großes COOP, eine Bäckerei und diverse weitere Annehmlichkeiten.

AKTIVITÄTEN

SCHWIMMEN & ENTSPANNEN: BRIENZ LIDO

Das schönste Strandbad am Brienzersee bietet an seiner wunderschönen Lage eine einzigartige Aussicht. Das Strandbad verfügt über eine grosse Rasenfläche, Sandkasten mit Rutschbahn, Spielkarussell, Kinderspielgeräte, Tischtennis und eine Hängematte zum Entspannen und Spielen.

Die grossgewachsenen Bäume neben dem Kinderpool bieten den kleinen Besuchern einen idealen Sonnenschutz. Das Strandbadrestaurant direkt am See bietet es eine atemberaubende Aussicht auf See und Berge.

BRIENZER ROTHORN EISENBAHN

Mit der Eisenbahn auf den Gipfel des Brienzer Rothorns: Es sind nicht nur Eisenbahnfreunde, die beim Anblick dieser steilen Felsenkämme und der Aussicht auf den Brienzersee in Entzücken verfallen.

Erleben Sie den Nervenkitzel des Reisens durch Oldtimer Dampfbahn, wie es 1.680 m in Höhenunterschied verhandelt und puffs seinen Weg bis zum Brienzer Rothorn. Die Reise von Brienz dauert etwa eine Stunde, durch eine Landschaft von Weiden, Wiesen und Wäldern, vorbei an den steilen Felswänden des schroffen Kamms. Auf dem Brienzer Rothorn selbst warten die Alpen der Zentralschweiz und die Gipfel der Berner Alpen auf über 4.000 m Höhe.

BALLENBERG OFFENES LUFTMUSEUM

Das Freilichtmuseum Ballenberg liegt im Herzen der Schweiz, eingebettet zwischen den beiden wunderschönen Feriendestinationen Haslital (Meiringen-Hasliberg) und Interlaken. Das hügelige, von Wäldern überzogene Museumsgelände ob Brienz ist von einem malerischen Alpenpanorama umgeben. 100 originale, jahrhundertealte Gebäude aus der ganzen Schweiz, originale Gärten und Felder, Vorführungen traditioneller Handwerkskunst, viele besondere Anlässe und 250 Bauernhoftiere vermitteln einen lebendigen Eindruck der Vergangenheit im ländlichen Ballenberg.

DAMPFSCHIFF & SEEKREUZFAHRTEN: BLS

Türkisblaues Wasser, mit ewigem Schnee bedeckte Gipfel und eine kühle Brise in Ihrem Gesicht – höchste Zeit für eine Kreuzfahrt auf dem Thunersee oder dem Brienzersee!

Also abschalten und zum Leben erwecken! Lassen Sie Ihre alltäglichen Sorgen hinter sich, lassen Sie Ihre Gedanken steigen und entspannen Sie sich und entspannen Sie sich. Eine Fahrt auf dem Thunersee oder dem Brienzersee führt Sie an malerischen Fischerdörfern und Schlössern vorbei. Ob mediterranes Flair am Thunersee oder Kreuzfahrt durch kristallklares Gletscherwasser am Brienzersee, auf jedem Dampfer ist die Schiffsküchen für das Wohlbefinden unserer Gäste da.

WANDER- UND BERGWANDERUNGEN VON BRIENZ

Wenn die Sommerhitze im Tiefland unerträglich wird, gibt es nichts wie einen Ausflug in die Alpen, um sich abzukühlen. Kommen Sie und erkunden Sie die erfrischende alpine Umgebung rund um Interlaken.

Mit seiner privilegierten Lage Interlaken ist der ideale Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge zu allen Gipfeln in der Umgebung. Wandern Sie nach Herzenslust oder genießen Sie einfach das einzigartige Panorama. In Interlaken, dem Tor zur Jungfrau, gibt es keine Grenzen für Ihre Bergwanderungen.

GIESSBACH FÄLLE

Der Giessbachfälle stürzt in 14 Etappen über eine Länge von 500 Metern und aus den Hochtälern des Faulhorns bis zum Brienzersee. Umgeben von Bergen, Wäldern und Alpwiesen, mit atemberaubendem Blick auf die unversehrte Brienzerseelandschaft, liegt diese geborgene Oase weit abseits von Hetze, Alltag und Verkehr.

ESSEN UND SCHLAFEN

HOTEL RESTAURANT WILDBACH

Direkt am traumhaft schönen blaugrünen Brienzersee an der Panoramastrasse liegt unser kleines persönlich geführtes Chalet-Hotel **. Die stolzen grünen Alpen fallen auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite steil in den See, unterbrochen vom tosenden Wasserfall – der für die Namensgebung unseres Hotel-Restaurants Pate stand – und das Schnitzlerdorf Brienz spiegelt sich im Wasser wiede. Sie sind auf einer Wanderung und/oder suchen nur ein einfaches Quartier für die Nacht? Wir halten ebenso liebevoll eingerichtete Low-Budget-Zimmer bereit. Sprechen Sie uns bitte an.

RESTAURANT STRANDBAD BRIENZ

Das schönste Strandbad am Brienzersee bietet an seiner wunderschönen Lage eine einzigartige Aussicht. Das Strandbad verfügt über eine grosse Rasenfläche, Sandkasten mit Rutschbahn, Spielkarussell, Kinderspielgeräte, Tischtennis und eine Hängematte zum Entspannen und Spielen.

Die grossgewachsenen Bäume neben dem Kinderpool bieten den kleinen Besuchern einen idealen Sonnenschutz. Das Strandbadrestaurant direkt am See bietet eine atemberaubende Aussicht auf See und Berge.

GRANDHOTEL GIESSBACH

Sobald Sie das Grandhotel Giessbach betreten, finden Sie sich in einer Welt einzigartiger Pracht und eleganter Kultiviertheit wieder. Sie verkörpert die Romantik und den Charme vergangener, ruhmvoller Zeiten. Heute wie vor hundert Jahren bildet die historische Hotelresidenz an den vielbesungenen, silbern schäumenden Giessbachfällen hoch über dem Brienzersee eine Welt für sich. Umgeben von Bergen, Wäldern und Alpwiesen, verblüfft dieses Märchenschloss aus der Belle Epoque mit seinem atemberaubendem Ausblick auf die unversehrte Brienzerseelandschaft. Nehmen Sie sich eine Auszeit in dieser Oase der Gastfreundschaft weit abseits von jedem Alltagstrubel und Verkehr. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

JUGENDHERBERGE

Stünden nicht überall Wegweiser zum Freilichtmuseum,  könnte man meinen, man sei schon dort. Die Chalets am Fuss des Rothorns, mit Schnitzereien verziert, die Promenade am Seeufer, das türkisfarbene, von Gletschermilch gefärbte Wasser, ein Dampfschiff stampft Richtung “Giessbachfälle” davon. Brienz ist ein Idyll und wie es sich gehört, an der besten Lage im Dorf, mit Strand und Sonnenterrasse: die Jugendherberge.

PREISE UND ENTFERNUNGEN

Rental / Vermietung:Half day:Full day:
Single Sit On TopCHF 40CHF 60
Double Sit On TopCHF 60CHF 80
SUPCHF 50CHF 70
Sea KayakCHF 50CHF 70
Premium Sea KayaksCHF 60CHF 80
Open CanoeCHF 70CHF 90
Premium SUPsOn RequestAuf Anfrage
One Way Supplement per boat: CHF30
Rental / Vermietung:Half day:Full day:
Single Sit On TopCHF 40CHF 60
Double Sit On TopCHF 60CHF 80
SUPCHF 50CHF 70
Sea KayakCHF 50CHF 70
Premium Sea KayaksCHF 60CHF 80
Open CanoeCHF 70CHF 90
Premium SUPsOn RequestAuf Anfrage
One Way Supplement per boat: CHF30
Bönigen – Iseltwald Cliffs4km40min – 1h 20min
Bönigen – Ringgenberg2km20 – 40mins
Ringgenberg – Oberried6.5km1h 10min – 2h
Iseltwald Cliffs to Iseltwald2.5km30 – 45min
Iseltwald – Giessbach Falls5km1h – 1h 30min
Iseltwald – Oberried3km30min – 1h
Brienz – Giessbach Falls3km30min – 1h
Brienz – Oberried7km1h 15min – 2h
Bönigen – Iseltwald Cliffs4km40Min – 1Std 20Min
Bönigen – Ringgenberg2km20 – 40Min
Ringgenberg – Oberried6.5km1Std 10Min – 2Std
Iseltwald Cliffs to Iseltwald2.5km30 – 45Min
Iseltwald – Giessbach Falls5km1Std – 1Std 30Min
Iseltwald – Oberried3km30Min – 1Std
Brienz – Giessbach Falls3km30Min – 1Std
Brienz – Oberried7km1Std 15Min – 2Std