COMBINE

Bönigen to Iseltwald by hiking and back by a kayak

Paddle-trail-plus

1 or 2 days
Hike the beautiful lake side trail from Bönigen to Iseltwald and have a delicious lunch in one of the fine restaurants of the picturesque lake side town of Iseltwald (check Iseltwald – Eating and Sleeping). Route is well marked. For maps, visit the tourist office in Interlaken before leaving. After lunch throw your shoes into a kayak, sit back and relax while seeing a different view of the lake when paddling back to Bönigen. If you feel like exploring Iseltwald a bit more why not to stay overnight and paddle to Bönigen next day. You can even get on the water both days. Hire a SUP-board in the afternoon and paddle around (launching not allowed) the Snaggeninseli or Snail Island as it’s known in English due to it’s history in the middle ages as a breeding place for snails. Options of accommodation are plentiful and it’s easy to relax in laid back Iseltwald for an evening. Have a dinner in one of the lake-side restaurants with amazing night views over the lake. You can hire a kayak/SUP-board from Iseltwald Abbeglen Bootsvermietung rental Station and leave the kayak in Hightide Kayak School base in Bönigen for a little surcharge. On your way back visit the magnificient Iseltwald cliffs which are also known as a great climbing and deep water soloing spot. Cliffs are situated on the southern shore of the lake 4 km from Bönigen, 2.5 km from Iseltwald. There’s also a couple of cute hidden beaches on the way for an ideal spot for a break. In Bönigen, there’s a public slipway in front of Hotel Oberländerhof/Hightide Kayak School for launching. Enjoy a lunch/dinner in the charming Hotel Oberländerhof after your return and admire the lake views one more time from their cozy summer terrace with a cooling drink.

Hiking time: 3 h 30 min – 4 h Paddling time: 1h – 1 h 30min

Bönigen to Brienz by kayak and back by a ferry or steamboat

1 or 2 days
Start early so you’ll have plenty of time to explore the beautiful lake of Brienz and relax on the water. You can hire a kayak/SUP-board from Hightide Kayak School in Bönigen and leave the kayak in Brienz Lido rental station for a little surcharge. Paddle along the southern shore of the lake and pay a visit to the magnificient Iseltwald cliffs which are also known as a great climbing and deep water soloing spot. Cliffs are situated on the southern shore of the lake 4 km from Bönigen, 2.5 km before Iseltwald. Have a lunch stop in the picturesque lake side town of Iseltwald (check Iseltwald – Eating and Sleeping). There’s also a couple of beautiful hidden beaches on the way for an ideal spot for a break. In front of Iseltwald you can paddle around (launching not allowed) the Snaggeninseli or Snail Island as it’s known in English due to it’s history in the middle ages as a breeding place for snails. In Iseltwald it’s possible to launch to the west of the ferry landing. Continue after lunch towards the the beautiful Giessbach waterfalls on the southern shore of the lake 5 km from Iseltwald. After your arrival to Brienz Lido rental station you can either head straight back to Bönigen and relax on the ferry or spend a night in Brienz and explore the beautiful lake side town and return the next day. There’s plenty of accommodation and dining options for all tastes (check Brienz -Eating and Sleeping). Ferry timetables can be found on the BLS website. There’s three passenger ferries that departure frequently and one of which is a steamboat constructed 1914. The nostalgic paddle steamer “Lötschberg” is the jewel of Lake Brienz and well worth the experience. If you decide to stay overnight, you can buy a day-pass for ferry and visit the villages of Oberried, Niederried and Ringgenberg the next day. You can also take the ferry all the way back to Interlaken East if you are staying in Interlaken.

Paddling time: 2 h 30 min – 3 h 30 min

Bönigen to Iseltwald by a kayak hike to Brienz and back by a ferry or steamboat

1 or 2 days

It is possible to do it in one day but for the best experience take two, there’s so much to see along the route and who wants to rush on a holiday. Start early so you’ll have plenty of time to explore the beautiful lake of Brienz and relax on the water. Paddle along the southern shore of the lake and pay a visit to the magnificient Iseltwald cliffs which are also known as a great climbing and deep water soloing spot. Cliffs are situated on the southern shore of the lake 4 km from Bönigen, 2.5 km before Iseltwald. Have a lunch stop in the picturesque lake side town of Iseltwald (check Iseltwald – Eating and Sleeping). There’s also a couple of beautiful hidden beaches on the way for an ideal spot for a break. In front of Iseltwald you can paddle around (launching not allowed) the Snaggeninseli or Snail Island as it’s known in English due to it’s history in the middle ages as a breeding place for snails. In Iseltwald it’s possible to launch to the west of the ferry landing. You can hire a kayak/SUP-board from Hightide Kayak School in Bönigen and leave the kayak in Iseltwald Abbeglen Bootsvermietung rental station for a little surcharge.
Continue after lunch by foot towards the breathtaking Giessbach waterfalls on the southern shore of the lake 5 km from Iseltwald. Route is well marked, just walk east. For maps, visit the tourist office in Interlaken before leaving. After you arrival to Brienz you can either head straight back to Bönigen and relax on the ferry or spend a night in Brienz and explore the town and return the next day. There’s plenty of accommodation and dining options for all tastes (check Brienz -Eating and Sleeping). Ferry timetables can be found on the BLS website. There’s three passenger ferries that departure frequently and one of which is a steamboat constructed 1914. The nostalgic paddle steamer “Lötschberg” is the jewel of Lake Brienz and well worth the experience. If you decide to stay overnight, you can buy a day-pass for ferry and visit the villages of Oberried, Niederried and Ringgenberg the next day. You can also take the ferry all the way back to Interlaken East if you are staying in Interlaken.

Hiking time: 4 h 30 min – 5 h Paddling time: 1 h – 1 h 30min

Bönigen to Ringgenberg by steamboat hike to Brienz and back by kayak

2 days

Day 1
Explore the jewel of Lake Brienz, the nostalgic paddle steamer “Lötschberg” and cruise your way to charming village of Ringgenberg in the morning sun. Have a walk up to the castle ruins and church which are open all year long and have free access. You can climb up to the tower for a beautiful view of the lake. Enjoy a lunch in the Hotel Seeburg, exceptionally peaceful setting with a garden restaurant with views to the lake. Continue after lunch and start hiking towards east to Brienz.
The lakeshore walk from Ringgenberg to Brienz is interesting, idyllic walk winds its way through wooded areas and across clearings that open up views of the lake and mountains. The “Entenstein” in Niederried is a pleasant spot to while away and feel at ease. The barbecue site has a wooden covered area and is the perfect place to enjoy a swim in the cooling waters of Lake Brienz. The lake is surrounded by steep, towering mountains. The various types of cheese-cuts in restaurant Bären in Oberried have these mountains as their namesakes. Stop for a coffee in the picturesque villages of Niederried and Oberried. Route is well marked. For maps, visit the tourist office in Interlaken before leaving. Stay overnight in Brienz and explore the beautiful lake side town with a gorgeous lake promande. Check options for dining and accommodation from Brienz – Eating and Sleeping.

Day 2
In Brienz you can visit the Ballenberg Open Air Museum with 100 original, century-old buildings from all over Switzerland, original gardens and fields, traditional handicrafts and farmyard animals. And experience the thrill of travelling by vintage steam railway as it negotiates 1,680 m in altitude difference and puffs its way up to the Brienzer Rothorn. Have a relaxing swim and a tasty salad or burger lunch in the Brienz Lido where you can also hire the kayak for your way back to Bönigen. You can leave the kayak in Bönigen for a little surcharge.
Take the southern shore of the lake on your way back and get the full experience of lake Brienz. Visit the amazing Giessbach waterfalls. Iseltwald is only 5 km away from the waterfalls and makes an ideal stop for a coffee in one of the charming lakeside restaurants (check Iseltwald- Eating and Sleeping). In front of Iseltwald you can paddle around (launching not allowed) the Snaggeninseli or Snail Island as it’s known in English due to it’s history in the middle ages as a breeding place for snails. In Iseltwald it’s possible to launch to the west of the ferry landing. After your break and maybe another refreshing dip on the lake head on towards Bönigen and admire the magnificient Iseltwald cliffs which are also known as a great climbing and deep water soloing spot. Cliffs are situated on the southern shore of the lake 2.5 km after Iseltwald, 4 km from Bönigen. In Bönigen, there’s a public slipway in front of Hotel Oberländerhof for launching.

Hiking time: 3 h 30 min – 4 h Paddling time: 2 h 30 min – 3 h 30 min

KOMBINATION

Wanderung von Bönigen nach Iseltwald – retour via Paddelweg mit dem Kajak

1 oder 2 Tage

Das schöne Seeufer lädt zum Wandern von Bönigen nach Iseltwald ein. Dank einer guten Markierung der Wanderroute ist der Weg auch für ungeübtere Wanderer stets gut zu finden. Die Wanderung dauert im Durchschnitt etwa 1.5 Stunden. Einmal in Iselwald angekommen, kann bei einem leckeren Mittagessen in einem der feinen Restaurants des malerischen Dörfchens wieder Energie für den Rückweg getankt werden. Danach dürfen die Schuhe im Kajak verstaut und der Heimweg via Wasserweg im Kajak in Angriff genommen werden.

Für Wasserratten besteht zum Beispiel auch am Nachmittag die Möglichkeit ein SUP zu mieten und sich darin auf dem türkisfarbenen Wasser vor Iseltwald zu probieren oder damit sogar die Schneggeninsel zu umpaddeln. Achtung: das Auswassern und betreten der Insel ist nicht gestattet! Der Rückweg nach Bönigen kann gut auch auf den nächsten Tag geplant werden – in Iseltwald gibt es zahlreiche Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten welche in diesem ruhigen kleinen Dorf beste Erholung versprechen. (Check Iseltwald – Essen und Schlafen).

(Für einen Beschrieb der Paddelroute von Iseltwald nach Bönigen siehe Abschnitt “Routen: Bönigen-Iseltwald”) In Bönigen darf man sich dann auf ein wohlverdientes Glace im Hotel Seiler au Lac oder ein kühles Bier und währschaftes Nachtessen auf der Terrasse mit Seesicht im Hotel Oberländerhof freuen.

Kajaks und SUPs können in Iseltwald bei der Abbeglen Bootsvermietung gemietet und / oder zurück gegeben werden. Planst du eine Tour von A nach B, kann das Mietmaterial auch am Ende an Punkt B zurück gegeben werden. Dies ist jedoch mit einem kleinen Aufpreis für die Rückführung des Materials verbunden.

Kartenmaterial zu Bönigen und Iseltwald kann im Tourismusbüro in Interlaken oder Bönigen bezogen werden.

Wanderzeit: 3 Std. 30 Min. – 4 Std. Schaufelzeit: 1 Std. – 1 Std. 30 Min

Bönigen nach Brienz mit dem Kajak und zurück mit dem Dampfschiff

1 oder 2 Tage

Beginnen Sie früh, so haben Sie genügend Zeit, den wunderschönen See von Brienz zu erkunden und auf dem Wasser zu entspannen. Sie können ein Kajak / SUP-Board von der Hightide Kayak School in Bönigen mieten und das Kajak in Brienz Lido mieten Station für einen kleinen Aufpreis. Paddeln Sie entlang des südlichen Ufers des Sees und besuchen Sie die herrlichen Iseltwald-Klippen, die auch als ein großer Kletter- und Wasserspielplatz bekannt sind. Die Klippen liegen am südlichen Ufer des Sees, 4 km von Bönigen entfernt, 2,5 km vor Iseltwald. Mittagessen in der malerischen Seestadt Iseltwald (Check Iseltwald – Essen und Schlafen). Es gibt auch ein paar schöne versteckte Strände auf dem Weg für einen idealen Ort für eine Pause. Vor Iseltwald können Sie die Snaggeninseli oder die Schneckeninsel, wie sie in englischer Sprache bekannt ist, aufgrund ihrer Geschichte im Mittelalter als Zuchtort für Schnecken umherlaufen (starten nicht erlaubt). In Iseltwald ist es möglich, westlich der Fährenlandung zu starten. Weiter geht es nach dem Mittagessen in Richtung der schönen Giessbacher Wasserfälle am südlichen Ufer des Sees, 5 km von Iseltwald entfernt. Nach Ihrer Ankunft in Brienz Lido können Sie entweder direkt zurück nach Bönigen fahren und sich auf dem Schiff erholen oder eine Nacht in Brienz verbringen und die schöne Seeuferstadt erkunden und am nächsten Tag wiederkommen. Es gibt viele Unterkünfte und Restaurants für jeden Geschmack (check Brienz-Essen und Schlafen). Fahrpläne der Kursschiffe finden Sie auf der BLS-Website. Es gibt drei Kursschiffe, die häufig abfahren und von denen eines ein Dampfschiff ist, das 1914 gebaut wurde. Das nostalgische Raddampfer “Lötschberg” ist das Juwel des Brienzersees. Wenn Sie beschließen, über Nacht zu bleiben, können Sie eine Tageskarte für das Schiff kaufen und die Dörfer von Oberried, Niederried und Ringgenberg am nächsten Tag besuchen. Sie können per Schiff den ganzen Weg zurück nach Interlaken Ost zurücklegen , wenn Sie in Interlaken bleiben.

Wanderzeit: 2 Std. 30 Min. – 3 Std. 30 Min

Bönigen nach Iseltwald mit einer Kajakwanderung nach Brienz und zurück mit einem Kursschiff oder dem Dampfschiff

1 oder 2 Tage

Es ist möglich, die Route in einem Tag zu absolvieren, aber die Erfahrung zeigt, dass man sich 2 Tage Zeit nehmen sollte. Es gibt so viel zu sehen, entlang der Route und wer will in seinem Urlaub eilen? Beginnen Sie früh, so haben Sie genügend Zeit, den wunderschönen See von Brienz zu erkunden und auf dem Wasser zu entspannen. Paddeln Sie entlang des südlichen Ufers des Sees und besuchen Sie die herrlichen Iseltwald-Klippen, die auch als ein großer Kletter- und Wasserspielplatz bekannt sind. Die Klippen liegen am südlichen Ufer des Sees, 4 km von Bönigen entfernt, 2,5 km vor Iseltwald. Mittagessen empfiehlt sich in der malerischen Seestadt Iseltwald (Check Iseltwald – Essen und Schlafen). Es gibt auch ein paar schöne versteckte Strände auf dem Weg. Ideal für eine Pause. Vor Iseltwald können Sie das “Schneggeninseli” oder die Schneckeninsel, umpaddeln.  Diese Insel soll angeblich im Mittelalter als Zuchtort für Schnecken gegolten haben. Leider ist das Betreten der Insel untersagt. In Iseltwald ist es möglich, westlich der Schiffländte zu starten. Sie können ein Kajak / SUP-Board von der Hightide Kayak School in Bönigen mieten und das Kajak in der Iseltwald Abbeglen Bootsvermietung für einen kleinen Aufpreis zurückgeben. Wir organisieren den Rücktransport des Materials.

Weiter geht es nach dem Mittagessen zu den atemberaubenden Wasserfällen von Giessbach am südlichen Ufer des Sees, 5 km von Iseltwald entfernt. Route ist gut markiert, nur zu Fuß nach Osten. Für Karten besuchen Sie bitte das Tourismusbüro in Interlaken, bevor Sie starten. Nach der Ankunft in Brienz können Sie entweder direkt zurück nach Bönigen fahren und sich auf dem Kursschiff erholen oder eine Nacht in Brienz verbringen und die Stadt erkunden und am nächsten Tag wiederkommen. Es gibt viele Unterkünfte und Restaurants für jeden Geschmack (check Brienz-Essen und Schlafen). Fahrpläne der Schiffe finden Sie auf der BLS-Website. Es gibt drei Kursschiffe, die häufig abfahren und von denen eines ein Dampfschiff ist, das 1914 gebaut wurde. Das nostalgische  Raddampfer “Lötschberg” ist das Juwel des Brienzersees. Wenn Sie beschließen, über Nacht zu bleiben, können Sie eine Tageskarte für das Schiff kaufen und die Dörfer von Oberried, Niederried und Ringgenberg am nächsten Tag besuchen. Sie können per Schiff den ganzen Weg zurück nach Interlaken Ost zurücklegen.

Wanderzeit: 4 Std. 30 Min – 5 Std. Paddelzeit: 1 Std. – 1 Std. 30 Min

Bönigen nach Ringgenberg mit der Dampfschifffahrt nach Brienz und zurück mit dem Kajak

2 Tage

Tag 1

Entdecken Sie das Juwel des Brienzersees, das nostalgische Paddelboot “Lötschberg” und fahren Sie morgens in das charmante Dorf Ringgenberg. Machen Sie einen Spaziergang zu den Burgruinen und der Kirche, die ganzjährig geöffnet sind und freien Zugang haben. Sie können bis zum Turm für einen wunderschönen Blick auf den See klettern. Genießen Sie ein Mittagessen im Hotel Seeburg, außergewöhnlich ruhige Lage mit einem Gartenrestaurant mit Blick auf den See. Weiter geht es nach dem Mittagessen Richtung Osten nach Brienz.

Der Seeufer Spaziergang von Ringgenberg nach Brienz ist interessant, idyllische Wanderung windet sich durch Wälder und über Freiflächen, die Blick auf den See und die Berge zu öffnen. Das “Entenstein” in Niederried ist ein angenehmer Ort zum Entspannen und wohlfühlen. Der Grillplatz verfügt über eine hölzerne überdachte Fläche und ist der perfekte Ort, um im kühlenden Wasser des Brienzersees zu schwimmen. Der See ist von steilen, hoch aufragenden Bergen umgeben. Die verschiedenen Käsesorten im Restaurant Bären in Oberried haben diese Berge als Namensvetter. Stoppen Sie einen Kaffee in den malerischen Dörfern Niederried und Oberried. Die Route ist gut markiert. Für Karten besuchen Sie bitte das Tourismusbüro in Interlaken, bevor Sie starten. Übernachten Sie in Brienz und erkunden Sie die wunderschöne Seepromenade mit einem herrlichen See. Überprüfen Sie Optionen für Restaurants und Unterkunft aus Brienz – Essen und Schlafen.

Tag 2

In Brienz können Sie das Freilichtmuseum Ballenberg mit 100 originalen, jahrhundertealten Gebäuden aus der ganzen Schweiz, originalen Gärten und Feldern, traditionellen Handwerken und Bauernhoftieren besuchen. Und erleben Sie die Nervenkitzel des Reisens durch Oldtimer Dampfbahn, wie es 1.680 m in Höhenunterschied verhandelt und puffs seinen Weg bis zum Brienzer Rothorn. Machen Sie ein erholsames Bad und einen leckeren Salat oder Burger Mittagessen im Brienz Lido, wo Sie auch den Kajak für Ihren Weg zurück nach Bönigen mieten können. Sie können das Kajak in Bönigen für einen kleinen Aufpreis abgeben. Wir organisieren den Rücktransport des Materials.

Nehmen Sie den südlichen Ufer des Sees auf dem Rücweg . Besuchen Sie die beeindruckenden Wasserfälle von Giessbach. Iseltwald ist nur 5 km von den Wasserfällen entfernt und eignet sich ideal für einen Kaffee in einem der reizvollen Seenrestaurants (Check Iseltwald – Essen und Schlafen). Vor Iseltwald können Sie das Schneggeinseli umrunden. Angeblich soll im Mittelalter die Insel als Zuchtort für Schnecken gegolten haben (Betreten der Insel leider nicht erlaubt). In Iseltwald ist es möglich, westlich der Schiffländte zu starten. Nach Ihrer Pause und vielleicht nach einem erfrischendem Bad im See können Sie in  Richtung Bönigen die herrlichen Iseltwald Klippen bewundern. Die Klippen liegen am südlichen Ufer des Sees 2,5 km nach Iseltwald, 4 km von Bönigen entfernt. In Bönigen befindet sich eine öffentliche Auswasserungsstelle vor dem Hotel Oberländerhof.

Wanderzeit: 3 Std. 30 Min – 4 Std. Paddelzeit: 2 Std. 30 Min – 3 Std. 30 Min